Vanilla Layer Cake with Almond Buttercream

This is one of my favorites! During the couple of weeks leading up to a friends wedding for which I was asked to make a cake for I realized that I needed to hone my fondant skills. So the cake making began and 2 or 3 cakes later this little beauty turned out and I was so happy!With the consistent making of cakes I decided to change up the flavours of each cake so that Justine and Scott would not get bored eating the same thing over and over again (there was a lot of cake).

This particular cake was made with an amazing almond buttercream. I used a basic buttercream recipe and substituted almond extract for vanilla. The key to using almond extract in anything is to not over do it, I know you can get away with that using vanilla but too much almond and it can have sort of a burning taste. DON’T DO IT! Use what your recipe says. The cake part of this one is my favorite go to cake; Golden Layer Cake. The reason I love this recipe is every time without fail it turns our amazing and fluffy. Then I filled the cake with buttercream and a layer of shaved almonds which gave it an amazing crunch!

What have I learned using fondant? BE PATIENT. I don’t think I can stress this enough. I have gone through a decent amount of fondant attempting to get it perfect and smooth on a cake. Don’t let it dry out and don’t stretch it to much or it will tear, Its a very picky thing. I have only used Wilton fondant that can be purchased at Michael’s however I have found a couple places here that sell Satin Ice Fondant which is the same fondant used at Carlo’s Bakery – The bakery featured on Cake Boss. I am hoping that better quality fondant makes a bigger difference but again BE PATIENT with it. More on Fondant later.

Would I make this one again? Of course, its super cute and very simple.

Sincerely

Michael Tremblay
The Butter Alchemist

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment